The UWUA's five regions allow for the National Union to better service its members who are spread out over 29 states and multiple industries.

The roots of this regional organization of our members go back to the 1930s. At about the same time that our local organizations were beginning to form, the American Federation of Labor (AFL) expelled a group of member unions who had pressed the need to organize industrial workers. These unions formed the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO), which immediately set about establishing the Utility Workers Organizing Committee, the precursor to today’s Utility Workers Union of America. This fact is important in that the CIO was the structure upon which the beginning of the UWUA was pinned. The slenderest of roots of the UWUA could be found in various parts of the United States – New York, Michigan, Pennsylvania, California, and Ohio, to name a few.

When the delegates to the First (and last) UWOC Constitutional Convention met, they hammered out the rules that would assure an orderly transition to the final step of organization. The ultimate goal was a fully-operational, free standing, chartered National Union, having a stature and strength equal to the task of bringing solid representation to its membership.

Currently, the UWUA’s five regions are established as follows, except where a local union whose operating company is in a region other than that in which the local is located. In those cases, the National Executive Board makes a judgment regarding how to better service and represent the members.

Click on the region box for a detail map of the region.


Region 4 Region 1 Region 5 Region 3 Region 2

Region One

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Puerto Rico and other Caribbean Territories

Region Two

  • Florida
  • Maryland
  • North Carolina
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

Region Three

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas

Region Four

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

Region Five

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming
  • Guam and other Pacific Rim Territories